Life though my lens

By LauraJaneFyfe

A Tropical Christmas

Today's blip is very special for a couple of reasons: 

1. The fact it is Christmas, always a special day
2. This is my 365th blip

As of today I have posted a years worth of photos and stories from my life and my travels. I would like to take the time to thank all the people who have taken the time to look at and read my blip, your support means a lot.

Today Stuart and I woke up to a brilliantly sunny, hot, tropical christmas morning. It was very odd standing in shorts on our balcony cooking pancakes on the BBQ, it has been years since I last had a tropical christmas. We had pancakes topped with loads of butter, maple syrup and fresh strawberries. After breakfast we opened our presents. Stuart was so thoughtful and had put all of my favourite DVDs in a dvd case so we could watch them in our campervan over the next few months. I had gotten Stuart a swiss army knife and a pair of 'thongs' (flip-flops) as he had forgotten to pack them. Our families were kind enough to put on a special early christmas for us before we left and we are both looking forward to speaking to them tonight.

After breakfast we headed down to the beach, a 5 minute walk down the road, where we spent the afternoon. As we don't have an oven in our apartment we braved christmas dinner on the BBQ. It was a spectacular success and we had chicken, beef and prawn kababs, new potatoes, carrots and a huge roast beef along with a few glasses of wine. For pudding we made  chocolate dipped strawberries and chocolate dipped marshmallows topped with a smarties. We spent the rest of the day watching christmas movies and listening to christmas songs. It was a great if slightly unusual christmas and one I won't forget.

Merry Christmas to all! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.