Man, Mountain or Fish

By StevieFish

Ooh, ma poor wee heid!

Note to self, a malt whisky tasting on a school night is not a good idea...

An unusual tasting, that's what the man said as the ten of us sat around the table. impeccably dressed and an eloquent speaker he informed us that tonight he too would be partaking in this veeeery special tasting. More like a dinner party he said.

That should have been my first warning. him taking his jacket off should have been the second.

I should point out that I'm not in the habit of attending whisky tastings (although, if this one was anything to go by I might make it a habit!) but I still had my introductory voucher for the society and I had to use it before xmas so I just grabbed the first event I saw.

Unusually, he passed the bottle around for us to pour our own - at this stage my liver was preparing to leave the building.

If you are interested here were the malts

first up was a lovely light 117.2. A 13yo that was 48.3%. The lightest of the bunch.

Next was one of the best of the night. a 61.20. The bottle was hit hard on its way around the table and we were all chastised. But I didn't care as I had a big fat 25yo 57% whisky in front of me!

then a 38.12 - which although nice wasn't to my taste. I kept going back to sniff and sip my lurvely little 61.20, my precioussss.

By the time number four made its scared way around the table I was feelling the effects. Oh dear. Pain in the post, my woozy head said no, but this was what I was waiting for! Japanese!

BANZAI

I poured myself an indulgent three fingers of mahogany nectar - a 119.2 and savoured it's plums and blackcurrants. Yum yum yum.

I was fading, and seriously doubting that I could take the last dram a cheeky wee 122.17 that was peatier than an Ardbeg (I never thought it possible but its true). the rest of the night is a bit hazy to be honest. I woke up this morning feeling ok...

the pain decided to arrive once I'd gotten into work. The sacrifices I make for my blipping! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.