Christmas day lunch for lonely seniors

A tired day. A sciatic nerve pain kept me awake until 3am, until I got tired to it and gave the nerve some TNS-therapy... Having arthritis here and there, as many in my age have, I have also equipments for pain, but it takes some time to find how to kill it anyway.

In the morning I was not at my best, but we had some job to do: me, hubby and my daughter had promised to act like volunteer chauffeurs for local Lions Club. Our job was to drive some of lonely 200 seniors to the christmas day lunch offered by the City of Tampere... So we had both our own cars moving and one from my step-mother.

There was tasty traditional Christmas lunch and dessert, musik and small choir singing.

My dad was there too, as his wife, my step-mother, had taken him home for xmas, and as this particular Lions Club work is her hobby.
As one of my car seniors had some other arrangements, and did not come for lunch, I could take my mom for the lunch too.

So it was very ecxeptional to see my father and mother sitting there togheter at christmas lunch. It has not happened after their divorcing in early 1970's.

After I had drove my step-mother's car back to her, we spent evening at home. Another xmas meal and a took a short nap too, then had special moments watching Snow queen ballet from television. It was recorded in Finnish national opera ballet and I have also seen the ballet in live in Helsinki...

Merry Christmas to you all!
Thanks for all the stars and favs even to my Advent Calendar!

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.