MEET ME AT MONUMENT

Neil went into Newcastle this morning to make his way to Fluid Sports Bar to watch the 3rd match in the State of Origin Series. Its Australian Rugby. He went to the 2nd match when he was in Sydney a few weeks ago. As I was also going to Newcastle we agreed to meet at Monument ( Grey's Monument ) at 1.30pm.

Neil was 20 mins late - apparently he had to have an extra drink to drown his sorrows as " his " team had lost by one point. His team being New South Wales.

While waiting for Neil I watched the tennis from Wimbledon on the big screen - Federer was playing but match was stopped due to rain. There was a guy nearby playing the bongos - loudly and with no real tune. I don't mind the bongos but as an accompaniment to the tennis it got on my nerves a bit.

The big screen at Monument is there all the time over the summer months and usually shows films - very popular during the school holidays.

After Neil turned up we went to Macdonalds. I haven't been there for ages. I had " my usual " - a children's Happy Meal. It made me happy. Then we went to Argos as I needed to buy Neil a new mobile phone. The only mobile he had was one he bought in Australia which is no good here.

The weather in town was quite nice - sunny and warm. A couple of times it clouded over and looked like rain but we only had a few spits. However when I got home everywhere was wet so I must have missed the rain.

RIP Eric Sykes who died today aged 89. Loved watching him on TV with Hattie Jaques.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.