Lexi's Christmas

I know this was taken Christmas Eve and is a not very clear photo, taken with the phone, but it is associated with a great memory for me and I would love it in my journal.

The cousins are all lined up with their Santa sacks and right on the left end is a little black dog wearing a Santa hat and with her own Santa sack.

Christmas morning, when we all came into the lounge, before the children had a chance to move, Lexi dived towards her sack, picked it up, ran outside and unpacked it. For the rest of the day she guarded her new toy and the chew bone, carrying them around with her and not letting anyone touch them.

The children (and adults) thought it hilarious that Lexi had recognised her sack and unpacked it herself. She is sitting here beside me now, toy in mouth and one foot on her bone.

It is a lovely happy memory - voted a high light by the children.

I look at the children too and marvel that they had never met before his week, but just came together as though they were old friends. I guess blood counts.

The German half of the family left this morning, heading to the South Island. I leave tomorrow. We will meet again at my house in two days time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.