Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

Young male bouquetin/ibex portrait.

What a morning of privilege! I had seen silhouettes of bouquetin on the skyline at a col when returning from the Dent d'Oche last week and decided to go there today. As I approached the col I expected the young males I could see, playing "king of the castle" on a prominent rock, to run away but several stayed. Then just over the skyline I entered an arena of a creche of females and their young. There must have been 50 animals at least. The view all the way over to the Matterhorn in the distance, with the clouds boiling in the valley, was exceptional. Start here in blipfolio to see several bouquetin herd pics including two tiny wee ones. They were so unconcerned, after initially being wary, that I sat down and stayed with them for 40 minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.