challenge

By jkj10

Scarlet

I met Brian last week in Paddington when I asked for a quick snap. I asked him about his metals and we got talking. He invited me to come down to the Royal Chelsea hospital where he lives for a private tour of the grounds. It was an offer I found impossible to decline.

Brian has been living on the grounds since the death of his wife three years ago. He loves the commradery. He said very few of them ever leave once they move in. It's a good life and they are very well taken care of. I had a tour of the chapel and the dining hall and he told me a bit about the daily life of the Chelsea Pensioners. We bumped into several gentleman along the way. They each stopped to warn me about Brian and made flirty chit chat. One man even showed me a book of photographs. I was particualalry interested in his wedding photos and photos of him in a Japanese prisoner of war camp but he wouldn't let me linger. He wanted me to see the images that included royalty and celebraties. I didn't wish to be damanding.

It was a very special experience being taken into Brian's confidance. He too loves shooting portriats and he kindly said that he had learned a great deal form me today. He talked openly about his marriage and his beloved daughter and his time in service. Although ultimately I did not get the image I had hoped for (the light was so hazy) it felt like a priveledge and an honour to take Brian's portrait.

I have already had an email from Brian inviting me to bring the teens for a private tour and a spot of lunch in the dining hall (where I blipped him today.) I am very much looking forward to photographing him again.

.A closeup of the metals for Booty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.