Rags of light

By CarolG1

Slow, slow, quick, quick, slow

Left Blackpool today after yesterday's meeting there. It was a horrible wet morning and I had some time to kill before my train so I went along to the Tower. I wasn't particularly interested in going up as it was such a dull day, but I fancied a look in the ballroom as I'd heard it was beautiful and had seen it on Strictly Come Dancing.

You needed a ticket for the ballroom but could go into the balcony for free. When I got up there I realised why - there was a tea dance taking place. The ballroom is absolutely stunning, all parquet floors, ornate gilt fittings and red velvet curtains. The tables were set out for tea, with cake stands. Best of all, I got to see the famous Mighty Wurlitzer organ in action, including watching it come up through the floor.

The dancers were mostly older, with a few forty somethings in there too. They were all really good dancers. Many had dressed up. It was utterly charming - a real slice of Northern England. This couple were my favourites - I loved that the lady had put on such a gorgeous dress to dance on a wet Wednesday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.