TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

The Christmas Pumpkin

As the weather here continues to be unseasonably warm, we seem to have another unseasonable anomaly here - this little pumpkin that I picked from my garden in September to adorn my front porch, is still happily and healthily retaining it's position there amongst the newbie Christmas lights.
Looking at my little pumpkin here on this Fall-like Christmas Eve, I am reminded of the 1993 Tim Burton film, Nightmare Before Christmas. If you are not familiar, the film follows the misadventures of Jack Skellington, Halloween Town's beloved pumpkin king, who has become bored with the same annual routine of frightening people in the "real world." When Jack accidentally stumbles on Christmastown, all bright colors and warm spirits, he gets a new lease on life and plots to bring Christmas under his control.
Of course, things don't really go as planned for the pumpkin king but the film does have a happy ending as, after realizing what Christmas is really all about, he and Sally the rag doll profess their new found love and embrace on the graveyard hill in Halloween Town.

"You know, I think this Christmas thing is not as tricky as it seems! But why should they have all the fun? It should belong to anyone! Not anyone, in fact, but me! Why, I could make a Christmas tree! And there's not a reason I can find, I couldn't have a Christmastime! I bet I could improve it, too! And that's exactly what I'll do!"



~ Jack Skellington, The Nightmare Before Christmas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.