MikeyP

By MikeyP

Crossing the Channel

I have been working nights recently and have not been able to get the camera out today, however, this was taken on 19th June 2012 when I was asked to shoot a Crossing of the English Channel from Dover to Calais as the team were going to attempt to set a new world record. The team of six rowed non-stop for 4 hours and 2o minutes shaving 6 minutes off the record (which was set by a rotating crew of eight). It was a brilliant sunny day, and this shot was taken by holding the camera about an inch above the water. My heart was in my mouth as waves seem to come from nowhere. The team have raised over £10,000 for two charities- The Royal National Lifeboats Institution and Marie Curie Cancer Care.

The challenge for me was to shoot stills and footage, so I spent the day swapping between the two cameras- plus I forgot my sun cream and got quite sun kissed!
You can see the video on YouTube by using this link
http://youtu.be/Omz49FiKmN8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.