... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Grey heron

I visited Bolingbroke Stock Pond today to check on the cootlings (well, mostly to see whether they'd survived the drooling heron...).
When I arrived, I was slightly disturbed to notice that there were two herons on the pond; hum, escalation...
But, phew, the cootlings are both still alive and screaming, and have grown a baffling amount. It was nice to see them (alive), but they remained pretty close to their nest which made it tricky to photograph them.

The two herons don't get along: they were initially sharing one of the two islands on the pond, but then one chased the other away... This was the one that didn't keep the island; it landed on the edge of the pond (in the corner where The Heron Incident took place). I took my opportunity to sneak up on it, and it was pretty calm, so I got quite satisfyingly close. They are beautiful at any distance, but up close I noticed details and textures that I'd never appreciated before which was wonderful.
It flew off shortly after I took this picture; I love the way their flight looks so lazy and loose limbed with their legs dangling down below their bodies

I felt quite intimidated at the pond though: one member of a gang group of four youths approached me (they'd been watching from a bench while I crept up on the heron) and asked, "What are you doing?"...
Me: "I was photographing the heron"
Him: "Why?"
Me: "It is beautiful; I wanted to get close-up shots..."
Him: "Is that camera good then; can I see?"
I had the neck strap on, but still worried that he'd grab it...
Me: "It is tricky to see the screen in this light"
He peered around, and his friends laughed; I was sooo nervous.
He turned and beckoned his friends over to look, but only one came and peered (the screen really isn't good in direct sunlight...)
Me: "I'd better make a move; enjoy the sunshine".
Scarpers.

Was I just being prejudiced; was the situation entirely innocent but I assumed that a gang of youths was going to cause trouble? I think it was the "What are you doing?" "Why?" and his friends watching and laughing that made me feel ill at ease...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.