The second half of life..

By twigs

Big Manly Beach

No - I really don't like the crowds of people nor the endless urban sprawl I experienced today.  I did however, successfully navigate Auckland's south to north motoways (including the dreaded Harbour Bridge crossing) in a bit under an hour which wasn't too bad at all :)  Having reached 'the other side' I thought I would head out to Whangaparoa Peninsula where, I had understood, there was a lovely  camp ground right at the very end.

Aaarrgh!  Hundreds of people and seemingly endless suburbia left me feeling very agitated and uncomfortable, almost to the point where I wanted to turn right around and start heading south again.  I opted not to do the Whangaparoa bit and instead, continued north, beyond the urban sprawl.  I did think this beach could have been worth a visit though, had I not been feeling quite so agitated!  (Do you think someone was having a laugh when they named these places together?  Or do you think there's maybe a comma missing?)  

I've found some breathing space tonight in Waipu (though not before trying a couple of local campsites who were chokker full.  Even if they hadn't been full I doubt I would have paid the $48 they were asking for one night.)  

Onward to sleep :)
G'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.