Outside

Last time I blipped this ex-prison there was an interesting comment-discussion about who would and wouldn't feel able to sleep in a luxury hotel converted from incarceration.

Since then a friend of mine, who has spent 40% of his life banged up (the percentage decreases daily - he's never doing that again) was bought a celebratory night here by his partner. Before he stayed I asked how he felt. He was phlegmatic. Not something he'd choose himself but he was fine about it. After he stayed I asked how he'd felt about it. He wasn't at all phlegmatic. He'd spent the night awake, thinking about the lost and abandoned: people he'd never met who had been in here; people who were mates when he was locked up, many of whom are now dead; and his younger self, finally, finally rescued.

Dedicated to wonderful J and the people he now rescues.



A Cuba backblip I uploaded last night (and if you've already seen it but are still interested, I've now added 7 extras). I intend to catch up before the year's out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.