Snapshots of my world

By yeeeeed

The force of nature.

My Dad and I have been out for a bike ride today, taking in many of the areas impacted by the floods. The sights were truly horrific - I don't think any photos I have seen on the news or elsewhere could ever reflect the nature of the demolition the water has caused. 

The entire contents of houses, businesses and schools were out on the streets in Elland, Mytholmroyd and Hebden Bridge. Mud covered fridges, washing machines, carpets, sofas, tables, chairs, books, desks, cash machines...you name it. Doors wide open revealed houses completely destroyed and the streets thick with mud, with debris everywhere. These are the boats in the canal in Elland, the river flooded into the canal and the boats have been strewn left, right and centre. I have also included an extra of a road which has been completed ripped up at the sides, leaving piles of stones and sand across it. I couldn't possibly take any photos of the ruined houses and businesses etc. It would be too disrespectful. 

You wonder how these people will ever, ever recover or regain a small sense of normality...seeing people's entire lives out on the roadside was heartbreaking. heartbreaking

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.