Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

At Your Convenience

A few months ago, back in October, the Red Lion pub in Manningtree re-opened following a period of renovation. Arrangements were made to gather at the pub via Facebook, whilst I was in Italy, and my phone (the only access to the social network I had that week) remained in my car at the airport. The evening out was to be the day of my return to the UK and so I missed it. 

Co-incidentally, tonight was also the day I returned from a working week in Italy, this time my phone accompanied me on the trip. I was home in plenty of time, but was feeling tired to the extent that I might have to miss the lure of real ale in a real pub and a pre-Christmas drink just a modest walk away. In spite of the evening out being the first after having been away all week, Beloved encouraged me to go and so I did, arriving at around 9pm. The evening was mild and dry, as so many have been this winter and inside, the pub was warm and full. 

The Red Lion is unusual in that it remains a place for drinking. Eating is not discouraged, but they haven’t made the switch to a pub / restaurant that so many others have. In fact, drinkers are encouraged to order from the local takeaways and bring food in if they so choose. Nevertheless, the real ales are well kept and served very well. The few hours soon slipped by and it was time to leave at around midnight. Before doing so, I had to pay a visit and although I’m not in the habit of photographing gents toilets, I made a one-time exception here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.