Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Stuck in Room 101? Or Day 101...

[A bit of a twist on today's MM101 theme]

Day 101 of My Incarceration


I don't know where I am or why I am here. I was living my life, hunting for little scurrying edibles, and then BAM something with big glowing eyes hit me. Next thing I know, I'm in a small space that smells funny and that I can't get out of. And then the giant two-legged mammals keep grabbing my legs and holding me tight while they stick me with things and peer into my eyes. Eventually they moved me into this bigger cell, but I still can't get out. And they continue to torment me from time to time. I don't know what I have done, or why I am being punished. I am beginning to lose hope. But I'll not give up! One day I will be free again - I know I will!

Our side of the story: This is an Eastern Screech Owl. Someone found it down, presumably hit by a car while hunting near a road. It spent some time in the hospital part of The Wildlife Center, and then was moved out to a "B Pen" to be rehabbed and build up strength again in order that it can eventually be released. I actually have no idea how long it's been at the Center, so I'm using 101 days purely for the purpose of today's challenge. I took the photo today, thru the slats of its pen, after we had weighed it, and checked its feet and feathers. Regular checks to make sure all is well with the no longer *hospitalized* patients are performed on Mondays - and I went in today because I had missed last Friday. It having been Christmas...

Edit: Adding the color version as an extra so you can see its lovely red color.

Visit this page and please invest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.