Local Windmill, Bergen op Zoom

Sounds like Bergen op 'ZOME'; 'zoom' = 'edge' or another kind of 'edge', because there is another Dutch word for 'edge', which is 'rand'.  So now does this mean that 'randy' = 'edgy'?  ;D))

I believe I'm in the area where dear Ingeborg lives (at least some of the time), but I couldn't wait to shoot this.  If most of what I've shot so far is between A = my work and B = my home, then Bergen op Zoom falls under C (just like The Hague and Delft).  It's really out of the way and I don't normally have any reason to be there, so I reserve such places for days when I don't have a schedule to follow.  Btw, did I say windmill-hunting season was officially over?  Well, unofficially, it's still on.  Dear Inge, sorry if I came when you weren't in, but, then, if I do get to visit, I'll really be visiting you and not just the windmill.

As it turned out, I was glad I went when I did.  On the drive back home, I had to continue on the A58 because that leads much faster to the supermarket I regularly patronize.  Apparently, about 10 or 15 minutes after I had left the A58, an accident occurred just about 200 m from the exit road I took.  Tons of LPG spilled onto the highway after an oil tanker exploded, resulting in a massive jam and closure of the A58 for about 5 hours.  Not only that, there was a fatal traffic accident on the same A58 but closer to Bergen op Zoom, right on the spot where I had just driven.  Unbelievable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.