things, bits & bobs...

By Nicpic

Not a day to remember...

But I probably will. It started this morning when I sleepily got out of bed to make my way the the bathroom. A rat was running up the stairs... I screamed, it ran into the bathroom, I ran into the other bedroom and probably screamed again. When I came to my senses I shut the bathroom door and then thought s***! How on earth do I catch it? I found a big sack and the pole that cleans the shower...I plucked up courage and opened the bath room door... no rat. 

Now that was not good. Where was the flipping thing? I poked things in various rooms/places etc and made lots of noise. No rat. I then asked a neighbour to bring in their terrier (who I know can suss out mice & rats)...she had a good sniff but no rat. I then felt ok that the rat was no longer in my house....I couldn't find any droppings or gnawing or signs until I picked up my camera bag. In the outer pocket I had a little bit of bird seed in a bag. It had started to chew the pocket and seed...

So then a saga to find somebody to come out and look. Luckily a lovely man came out and had a thorough look, put bait down in various places and told me where he thought it had got out - down the hole by the sink in the bathroom. My brother-in-law then came to have a look and put serious chicken wire in the only place we could work out it might have got in. By the boiler there was a small gap between the pipe and the tiles... We also put a bit of wire wool there (also in the gap in the bathroom) ...it's a wait and see job. 
After all this I went out for a much needed walk and found a buzzard.

I can't help feeling peeved that the rat chose the one sunny day this week to appear!

I also need to read the blipfuture stuff, I don't blip every day but I would not like to lose all my previous blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.