a defining moment

a couple of months back my wife had a miscarriage. in the earlies of day 3 i got a call to get to the hospital pronto as she was about to go into theatre. which meant parking the car 400m away and running. being a keen mountain biker i didn't think it would be a problem.

but i couldn't do it.

thankfully i got there just in time to hold her shaking hand and kiss her my 'see you laters', then spent the next hour battling an asthma attack whilst wiping away tears. i vowed to myself there and then that i would never put myself or my family in that position again: the thought of not being able to run to the aid of my daughter if her life depended on it isn't an option.

so today i posted my official paperwork and entry fee for the Hoylake 10k Coastal Run in September. (the reason for choosing that particular race can be read in my blipping friend's blog at neverendinglist).

training is going well - slow but steady and sure. wish me luck :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.