Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Walking on the Moon (and touching Mars)

I went to the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto, today. I had not been in many years but I was lured at the opportunity to touch a piece of the planet Mars - a slice of rock from the red planet - (see extra photos) AND the chance to walk on our moon (seen above) a slice of lunar rock over which is a thick sheet of bullet-proof glass that you can stand on. I thought that was pretty cool. The ROM had other lunar rocks, martian rocks, meteorites, and an amazing assortment of minerals in the geology section. I toured it all: Egypt, Rome, Asia, Europe, the Americas, dinosaurs, mammoths, you name it. It was great fun.

I have had the opportunity to touch the moon, as well. Last summer at the National Air and Space Museum in Washington, DC, they have a similar display as the Mars one depicted in the extra photos. A slice of extraterrestrial rock embedded in lucite (or something) well covered so you can barely get your hand in, but just enough to touch a piece of an alien world. Pretty neat, eh?

Extra Photos: Close-up of the Moon on which I'm standing in the main photo. Close-up of Mars rock you can touch. Me touching Mars directly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.