Star Wars monopoly

Our bedroom light turned on mysteriously at 5.30 and woke me up, I had a feeling someone had died and then I awoke about 8 to the very sad news that Lemmy  from Motorhead had passed away :-(

I had a record deal with his son Paul Inder and we worked together for about five years in the 90s, we are still in touch via Facebook and I learnt the news as I scrolled past his status on my feed.

In my 20s I was lucky enough to meet Lemmy, he was in town staying in a hotel and Paul took me over there, we shared tea, toast and marmalade and I read some of his poems which were amazing and moved me to to tears, he had an extraordinary presence,  he was so grounded and present in the moment, it was an honour to be with him and spend that time with him, he made a huge impression on me that has lasted until this day and will remain with me forever.

I feel terribly sad for Paul and yet happy that they grew so close in recent years and that Lemmy had such an amazing party for his 70th birthday earlier this month. I understand he passed away peacefully after short illness  with all his family around him, he was rocking until the end.

I am so glad I saw him live at Glastonbury this summer, thank you to Kevin, Rachael and Sally for that xx

We have listened to a lot of his amazing music today and we all watched a documentary tonight, how many of us can really say that we've lived the life we wanted to and that we have no regrets? He is an inspiration and his music has shaped so many amazing bands and will live on forever.

Tomorrow morning I fly to Egypt for a show on New Year's Eve, I won't be home until the second of Jan so I have spent a lot of today preparing for that and getting organised.

Tonight we had a family game of Star Wars Monopoly, a Christmas present from Max's sister Jane and boyfriend Kevin, it was good fun and differs from the main monopoly game which is a good thing I think.

May the FORCE be with us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.