Grandpont Nature Park – 8.37 on 29 December 2015

26 minutes after sunrise.
 
Week 52 of the series and the end. I've posted 50 blips of the Nature Park during 2015 (I was away for two of the weeks) which is almost 14% of my year's blipping. I'd thought this last one might look like the subdued first one but we had a beautiful orange sunrise this morning which cast its glow over everything. The humans seemed mostly not to be up yet so it was just me with the birds who were in full voice. I stayed out quite a bit longer than I needed to for the joy of the light and the song.

What have I noticed over the year? That moles come and go, that the daffodils (for which I chose this spot) last much longer than I'd thought, that - as I already knew as a cyclist - it rains much, much less than most people think (sorry this is very bad timing for northern blippers), that the wildflowers/weeds start in the meadow beyond and gradually work their way towards my vantage point, that birds rarely fly low, that it's a bit daft to choose as the central focal point a pole that is visible only when there are no leaves, that even the slightest shift of position on my part has a very noticeable effect on the image, that change intrigues me and I like series.

Will I miss my Tuesday mornings here? I won't. There have been some weeks when I've looked forward to the changes but even when the seat I've leant against each week was on my route to work, there were also weeks that I found taking this image yet again a tedious constraint. But I'm happy now to have the set and I'm grateful to those of you who've popped in and out to see the seasons change.

For anyone who wants more (!) cassegw has picked up the baton so from now you can watch weekly changes in a street in Edinburgh. Over to you, Gerard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.