Perched on the roof ridge

I went to the retirement afternoon tea held for a good friend, with whom I have worked in a number of relationships (beginning as his trainee), and who has stopped working in the acute inpatient setting. On two occasions for a total time approaching 10 years, we worked together as colleagues in acute inpatient psychiatry. The last time, he had his academic work, and I had an administrative role in addition to our clinical work. About ten years ago, I chose to continue the administrative position and moved my clinical work to private practice. Jim continued in the inpatient unit; until today. It was a wonderful occasion and he has been important in the working lives of many staff.

S and I then came north to the Beachhouse again. A very short stay in the city this time. Needing a photo for my blip, I hung about outside with my camera, and this Indian Mynah perched on the ridge of the roof of our neighbours' house. There was still enough sun to catch his eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.