Memory Lane and Chelmsford Discovered

After dropping off my brother in town this morning, I parked and went walk-about.  I have in recent weeks been fascinated by a group page on Facebook called "Chelmsford Remembered" where people are posting photos of my hometown in days gone by, and all kinds of other memories - it is very absorbing!  Chelmsford town centre has undergone significant change with many historical buildings - even whole streets - demolished in the 60's and 70's in particular, to make way for new designs in concrete in the misguided C20th philosophy of 'modernisation'  and so it is really interesting to see all the old images folk are posting, many of which I remember - taking me straight back down memory lane to childhood. It has also motivated me to look more carefully as I walk around town, and today with great success!  High on a brick wall I spotted one of those Blue Plates signifying a place of historical interest, this one announcing that Joseph Strutt (1749-1802) lived here.  I walked around the corner into the side street to find the front of the house behind high gates, so today's photo is an arm stretched snap - but it does the job.  The white pointy roofed building behind is the Riverside Inn, formally the C18th Springfield Mill, where Strutt was born.  Who knew?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.