mef13

By mef13

Salad Days

After all the self indulgence, it really has to be a sensible idea to enjoy a healthy salad.
Too often they are considered to be summer cuisine alone, yet an appetising dish like this to my mind is a sound choice anytime of the year. Especially as an alternative to a full scale cooked meal in these heady days of festive merriment.
Or maybe it is simply my own fault through thinking that all the enjoyment of festive meals has to be packed into a few days, and at most, the 12 days of Christmas.
Either way, I was delighted to find this on the menu rather than potato or roast vegetables. Don’t get me wrong, I am more than happy to include vegetables in my five-a-day regime, but especially at this festive time, It is somewhat unexpected and a welcome treat to be served salad, and one which has clearly been lovingly prepared with care and expertise rather than simply based on  a handful of leaves from a supermarket bag, which although often inviting, do not hold the same appeal as this.

Full marks to the chef, and my hosts Rob’n’Jo for this thoughtful choice.  Must have known I am trying to keep to a diet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.