Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Hospital

Posted on 31st December 2015

My Uncle Georg was a gynaecologist with a private practice in Offenbach. I think it fair to say he was a renowned doctor. His father (ie my grandfather) was also a Georg and a doctor. He was locked up by Hitler briefly in the '30s and his doctors licence withdrawn because he helped out a woman in difficulties, against the Nazi rules. My grandmother even flew to Berlin to plead with Göring to get the licence back as they had no income and two children. However, he died of cancer shortly afterwards. 

Uncle Georg used the nearby Ketteler Hospital for his patients requiring in-patient treatment and where he carried out his operative work. Thus as today was his regular operating day, he asked Annabel, a trainee nurse at the Middlesex Hospital (central London just off Oxford Street), if she wanted to join him. From memory, she "enjoyed" the experience.

I had done the operating room experience a few years before. I won't forget it and am glad that although I have now had loads of experience of operating rooms, they have all been with me knocked out! I remember back then during a caesarian section, the chief nurse saw my look (despite all the head & face gear) and pointed to a chair near the window!

Here in the Blip, the beach buggy. referred to in yesterdays blip and the photo was taken on this day in Germany. Started life I think early 60's in Devon with a 1100cc, 6V  engine. Reg Nr TGP46. Then had about 16" cut out of the middle of the chassis and was welded back together and the fibreglass beach buggy put on.

My father bought it for me on 8th November 1972, my first car, and from memory, it cost 300 GBP. His one condition - I paid for everything else connected with it. Turned out to be a constant user of my very limited funds and was anything but the "girl catcher" I hoped it would be. You needed to wrap the poor girls in plastic dustbin bags to ensure their feet/legs stayed dry!

Annie being a sensible girl and with help from her lovely mother persuaded me to exchange it for a used Saab 96 shortly after this holiday. Have to say I wasn't sad to see it go and now with time, I only remember the good times in the "Roadrunner".
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.