Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

Goodbyeee!

I've decided to retire from Blipping, so this is my last one - for a while, maybe forever (who knows, I may miss it and come back...). I've lost my Blip mojo. It's run out of steam for me personally.

This is nothing at all to do with the Blipfuture buyout campaign and indeed I wish that all the best. It's a purely personal (selfish?) decision that I made some months ago. I picked the end of the year as the arbitrary end date.

So Blipfoto: it's not you, it's me...!

For anyone interested in my rationale: I've been Blipping for four and a bit years and in that time it dramatically accelerated my interest in photography, to the point that it triggered me starting a photography degree. But in the last year or so, it has kind of tipped the other way: instead of encouraging me to take pictures, it's become a chore, ticking a box every day whether I like the photo or not. I know most people use Blip as a kind of daily journal rather than a photographic showcase, but I'm getting slightly precious about sharing sometimes mediocre work just to tick a daily box. It is, in a hard to define way, detracting from the more 'meaningful' work that I need to produce for my degree projects.

My resolution for 2015 was to 'simplify my life' but it didn't quite work out that way...! So I'm carrying that resolution forward to 2016. I've taken a career break for a year to study full-time. I've already closed down a few other photo sharing accounts I used to frequent. And now it's Blipfoto's turn for the clearout. Sorry.

To anyone who's still reading this: Thanks for looking at my Blips. Thanks for posting yours! It's been a blast, it really has. Without Blipfoto I wouldn't be where I am now, doing what I'm doing, and for that I will always be grateful. But it feels like it's time to move on.

Very best of luck to you all - I do hope the Blipfuture buyout works out and Blipfoto lives on.

Take care of yourselves, and each other.

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.