SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Gigantes

Our room looks out over these wonderful 600m cliffs - Los Gigantes - so an immediate aim was to see if I could find a way to their crest. I found a "Camino del Rey" (ancient track) [extra] which climbed up out of Puerto Santiago past banana plantations to dry hillsides dotted with cactus and other succulents. The slopes were too loose to climb so I was pleased to find a track heading up to the crest at about 500m. The sea view was disappointingly hazy but, inland, I could see the summit of El Tiede (3700m) peeping over its foothills.

Tonight there is a "gala dinner" at the hotel and a free bar from 19:00 which could make for quite an atmosphere!

So, 2015 comes to an end. Completing one Blipfoto entry every day has been a challenge, but it has got me out and opened my eyes when I might have vegetated. I've discovered that I'd lost fitness and, with a bit of willpower, have ended the year a lot fitter than when I started it. All this has left me a much happier person than back in January.

Happy Hogmanay to you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.