Blown away.

After the gym, I walked up to the church. It wasn't very busy, only Kevin and another volunteer called Tom. I had a cuppa, and then Adrian, who is also a  volunteer came in as well. I have found him a  bit difficult to get to know, but i think at last I have.  You can see him here, playing the clarinet. He had an operation many years ago, and his facial muscles, especially his lip, doesn't work properly. He wanted to learn to play the clarinet, but couldn't purse his lips over the mouthpiece, so he made a wooden piece to fit over it ,so that he could build up the muscles. Once he had got the hang of it, he then made a metal piece that fitted instead of the wooden one. He asked me what my favourite carol was,  which is Silent Night, and then played it for me. I asked him if it was okay to take his photo, and he was really pleased, and wants me to email him the photos. I think he is my new best friend!  Kevin will be ringing the bells, at  midnight tonight, so I will try to listen out for them. It just leaves it for me to wish you all  a very Happy New Year.  Stay safe and warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.