Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

2015: Consigned to History!

This time last year I predicted that 2015 was going to be epic, I was right but not in the way I thought it would be, instead it was an epic fail!

That’s not to say that I haven’t achieved loads, it’s just that two important things to me blew up in my face and left me on the ropes.  I’ve suffered depression (still suffering, I don’t think it ever leaves you), other elements of my health have deteriorated and I’ve lost confidence in my abilities.  I face some serious and scary decisions for the New Year that could make or break me.

But still I can look back on some great memories:

Meeting Sugar Ray Leonard, John Toshack, Kevin Keegan, Eileen Collins and Jim Lovell
Barcelona in May
Wonderful music such as Eric Clapton, Manic Street Preachers, BBC Proms at the Royal Albert Hall and the last night Proms in the Park
Epic mountain days on Tryfan, Cadair Idris and Crib Goch
The tense and exciting Ashes test in Cardiff
Beautiful Krakow where I made a new friend from Swansea
Volunteering at the Cardiff Half Marathon, and running the Stroke Association Resolution Run and the Swansea 10k
A super day at Zip World Caverns in Snowdonia, and an unbelievable experience driving Porsches and Ferraris at Thruxton
Passing my Mountain First Aid and NNAS Silver Navigation award
Organising a charity walk for Crohn’s and Colitis UK and then representing the charity at the Houses of Parliament
And of course the return of Star Wars with The Force Awakens


I’ve also found out what true friendship is, those that have been there for me, I’m more grateful than I can ever say.  To have made it to the end of 2015 still alive, not an alcoholic and not a junkie is an achievement.

I consign 2015 to history, I hope I never see the like of you again!  Good riddance!

I end the year on somewhat of a high as someone said to me today “you have inspired me many times, so thank you.”  It’s all I ever want to do in life, supporting and helping people, and to be a good man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.