peterdawson

By peterdawson28

The Empire strikes back

Another architectural oddity to finish the year. I had wrongly assumed that the Kingston Empire was an extinct cinema but if you read the appropriate bit here you'll discover, as I did, that it was in fact a fairly innovative theatre and music hall in its day. Sadly it has now been transformed for the most unlikely of dual uses - a Wetherspoon's discount boozer occupies the ground floor and a church the upstairs. Still at least the façade has been spared the wrecking ball and the huge tiled Empire sign has been restored to its former glory.

It just remains to wish all you blippers a very happy, healthy, peaceful and prosperous new year for 2016. I'm not sure that I'll continued to blip every day now that I've hit 365 in a row - then again I've never been one to make or follow resolutions. Let's just hope this amazing forum continues to be available to us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.