OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Two humpback whales

I heard that whales were seen in Echna Bay on Burray yesterday so caught the bus there this morning. A couple of people at the roadside pointed them out beyond Swannies Point and I could see them distantly. I walked around the shore to the point but was pretty irritated at the sight of two jetskis tearing in at full speed. I carried on after photographing a nearby little auk and found lots of people watching from the point. A friendly farmer and wife were welcoming people to walk through their graden and fields to see the whales. We all had great views of two hupbacks and a minke whale feeding amidst hundreds of gannets and gulls. Afterwards I went with Alan and Paul to see the white-billed diver that has appeared again for the winter at St. Margaret's Hope. It seems that some orcas turned up as well...oh well. More here :https://www.flickr.com/photos/octobermoth/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.