doubtlesshouse

By doubtlesshouse

Blipfoto and Blipfuture

Blipfoto and the community buy out under Blipfuture - https://www.blipfuture.com/invest

It’s amazing to see a community that so many people care about. When the bankruptcy was first revealed, reading the posts of people frantically trying to back up their memories in case it suddenly vanished was heartbreaking.

Myself, I don’t post much about my personal life anywhere online but I’ve greatly enjoyed photographing for Blipfoto and when I look back at my entries almost every one has a memory for me. There is so much inspiring photography here, and it's great to read about people's lifes.

Also, I’m very interested in seeing a community site like this run as a Community Interest Company (with community voting and legal locks to ensure it is run for the good of the community). I would love to see a succesful CIC show that this can work, and encourage more community projects to be run in this way.

It won’t be easy. In fact, it will be very difficult. I personally think there are many unknowns, and there will probably have to be major changes in how it’s run and what expectations people have of it. Some issues will take years to resolve.

But I’m still in. Let’s give it our best shot (no pun intended) so at least if it doesn't develop (aggh, sorry) we can say “We gave it a go and didn’t give up” . . .



ps. “Blip” is spelt out on my living room wall by a bunch of photos I took over the course of one long walk in the woods in France in September. I didn’t post any individually as they are meant to be seen together - can you spot the common element?

Hopefully the photo has enough detail - despite these being matt prints they still reflect a lot of light. I took this with a flash gun pointing at the roof to act as a diffuser but you can still see the flash highlights on the top of the “I”. I didn’t have time to work on better lighting - anyone got any suggestions?



[DISCLAIMER: I did some paid work for the old Blipfoto company but have not discussed doing any work for Blipfuture.]


Note: A lot of this first appeared at https://jarofgreen.co.uk/2015/12/blipfuture-im-in/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.