In My World

By JoanneInOz

It's been ten years....

....to the day, since I started making a small quilt for my daughter's dolls pram, back in what now seems like another lifetime, when I had a machine embroidery business.

On this day in 2006 I had the urge to make something for myself. The shop was closed for the Christmas New Year break, so, armed with a piece of fabric, I went through the side door of the shop, set up a design on the machine, and once completed I brought it home and added the patches.

The shop re-opened before I had the chance to finish the quilt, and it has remained unfinished for ten years, in the dolls pram. During winter, I often find Miss Tibbs curled up in the dolls pram on top of the quilt.

So today, ten years to the day that it began, my little quilt, measuring 23" x 25" has been finished. The batting and backing has been added and the binding is in place around the edges. Miss Tibbs will find the tiny quilt far more cosy to cuddle up to during winter now.....

.....which leads me to why I love blip, why I want to see this site saved, and why I would like today to encourage everyone to pledge whatever they can to saving the community. It's the simple, everyday events, such as completing my quilt after ten years, and sharing the moment with friends, here on this site, that make it worth saving. It's the joy of sharing in happy events, sending virtual hugs in times of sadness, hearing about the weather on the other side of the world, sharing holiday photos, weddings, birthdays, births, and yes, even the times when we lose loved ones. It's knowing your friends are there, during the everyday events that life throws at you. It's the caring for others, and knowing that they care in return.

It's difficult to imagine a world without blip, and it is within our power to save blip, and continue the site as a community. And that is exactly what blip is ~ it's a community of friends, a worldwide community.

Lets make it a Happy New Year ~ Pledge To Save Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.