Of course!

Four reasons for loving Blip

 
One - Photographs
I happened upon Blipfoto three and a half years ago, when I had just got my first 'proper' camera and someone suggested that taking a photo a day was a good way of making sure the camera got used. Since then I have indeed taken pictures every day and it has made me use my camera. Whether it has made me a better photographer is debatable, but to me it is more important that it has made me a better 'looker at' and 'noticer of' the world around me.
 
Two - Journal
I soon realised that I was creating a journal that was very personal to me, in that it was recording something of each day of my life, whether that be an event, a place, a person, a thought, an idea, an image. And of course this journal has grown and grown over the years. It is a delight to be able to look back and recognise where I was, who I was with, what I was thinking on individual days in the past. It has been particularly special to realise that I have captured our grandchildren growing up. Now we don't see them as often, blip has been a way of capturing the special moments we have with them.
 
Three - Friends
The aspect of Blip that crept up on me and I just had not anticipated was that a community existed. I slowly began to realise that there were people here who shared similar outlooks on life, similar interests or who were just good company. As that circle of friends grew, and especially when I began to meet some of them in the 'real' world, it became a very important aspect of life here. Sharing thoughts, moments, ideas - our lives - with people the world over is a real joy.
 
Four - Audience
Finally, one aspect of Blip that has filled me with wonder is the way in which my interest in 'history beneath our feet' has found an audience. I love searching out evidence of how people over the centuries have lived out their lives, feeling awe that I am following their very footsteps. I enjoy the research involved and then recording it all and through Blip I have found to my great delight that there are others interested in the such things and who read my words. To those who have followed me on the Drover's Trail, the Stone Circle hunt, the journey along the River Eamont, I say a big thank you. So of course my blip had to be . . . stones! (Long Meg Stone Circle - 11am)
 
   
Blip must continue. It is a important part of my life and of the lives of many. We have to keep it going for ourselves and for those who have yet to find out the real joy of this community.

Here's how to help keep blip alive. Join us in pledging, if you haven't done so already. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.