Floods

We drove out towards Selby this afternoon to take a look at the flooding.  Lots of roads still closed - as you can see there is still a lot of water out there!

Someone had added some nice graffiti onto the four cooling towers, so it seemed I had to use this shot for my blip today.

We were introduced to blip by John Gravett.  We never thought we'd have the time to produce a daily photo but, after doing another course at LPH, I (Tim) decided to give it a go.

I've now taken a photo a day for about 15 months, starting in September 2014.  I've found the experience has improved my photography no end, and broadened my horizons.  The need to find something every day has driven me to try all sorts of different ideas.  Sometimes these have been quick shots taken on my walk at lunch time.  Others have included elaborate set ups.  Yet others have driven me to improve my photoshop skills.  It all drove an improvement in my processing.

The community on blip is ever supportive - lots of lovely comments, sometimes constructive criticism, and it also provides a plethora of ideas of how I can improve.   A highlight was meeting some blippers from the other side of the planet in Wanaka, New Zealand - we'd probably never have thought to go there if it wasn't for seeing photos of the area on blip.

I have donated to keep this site going, and I hope you will too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.