Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Please Get On Board

I was in two minds whether to drive over to the Keighley and Worth Valley Railway, but in the end decided to leave the car at home and explore on foot with no fixed agenda.

I walked over the tops towards Copley and then, as the river bridge has been washed away, I skirted around Norland Moor and down through Pickwood Scar and into Sowerby Bridge. The devastation alongside the river and canal was quite evident with boats marooned on the towpath, parts of buildings washed away and dirt and detritus in and around a lot of the buildings.

From Sowerby Bridge I hopped on a train to Bradford Interchange and had a wander round the new Broadway Shopping Centre. It's been a long time coming but I was impressed with what I saw.

Back on the train to Halifax and then a 4-mile (55 minute) walk home as there were no buses and I am not a big fan of the local taxis which I often see jumping red lights.

I blipped the train at Sowerby Bridge Station. Let's hope everyone gets on board and that it arrives safely at it's destination.

***** A Happy New Year to all my Blipfoto friends ******

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.