Blipfuture

This image sums up two of my passions - wild flowers and photography. Today Pete and I took part in the Botanical Society of Britain and Ireland New Year plant hunt, which involves recording as many wild and naturalised flowering plants as possible within three hours. We surveyed areas of Peterborough and Castor fairly intensively, covering over 9km and totting up an amazing 82 species in flower - I've used some of the more colourful blooms here.

I joined Blipfoto over five years ago, and during that time it has meant many things to me. Initially my aim was to complete a 365 project and improve my photography, but I was soon caught up with the community spirit and made blipfriends all over the world. I've shared their lives, and though I've never met most in person, feel a remarkable intimacy. If Blip were to disappear I would really miss the human interaction,  that doesn't really seem to happen in the same way on other photographic sites.

As I continued beyond my first year, pressure of life meant that daily blipping became impossible, and my initial flurry of commenting gradually diminished. However, as my journal grew, blipping became a valuable record of family life and the natural world around Peterborough - a record I would hate to lose. 

I'm sure we all want Blipfoto to be here this time next year, hopefully in a re-invigorated form that embraces the whole community and has many of the earlier features that were lost in latter months. But that won't happen unless we pledge some money towards it - the four blippers who are trying to rescue the site need to have a viable amount by 11th January. So, if you haven't already done so, please make a pledge here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.