Happy New Year

Happy New Year! Just back from watching the fireworks at Cromer. No tripod unfortunately...

I posted my first photo on Blip just over a couple of years ago. I hadn't really thought too much about it. I wasn't making any special commitment to anything but it seemed a nice way of staying in touch with a former colleague and friend of mine, Rosiecatwoman
Within a few hours I had a very friendly and encouraging first comment from a fella in Sweden keibr. I responded to his comment and little by little, like dropping a pebble into a still pond, the ripples spread out and gradually a circle of actual and virtual friends began to form. A few I have met, many I have never met, several I hope to meet over the years ahead. All have at times shared images and experiences that have touched, entertained, inspired, educated and encouraged me in many different ways.
Although the intention is to post an image every day, I have held this lightly and allowed myself to come and go a bit while staying strongly connected to the venture and to the sense of community over the two years that I have been part of it.
Blip is a special and unusual place in the online world which fosters a warmth and generosity of spirit among its members. Through Blip I have forged friendships with folks around the world and at the same time I have been motivated to wake up and use my eyes more, to look for an opportunity every day - or most days at least - to take a picture of something noteworthy or to try and find an interesting angle on something more or less mundane..

As most of us know, the future of Blip is in the balance at present and unless between us we can find enough spare lolly to buy back and finance the site ourselves, the lights will go out in a few weeks.
If anyone happens to have a few spare quid, dollars, roubles, euros, yen or what have you, please consider contributing to the crowd funding at Blipfuture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.