Blip To The Future

It would be rude not to join into the blip dedication today.

Why is Blip special to me? That's a good question.

What started out four calendar years ago as an effort on my part to try and improve my photography, by pushing myself to take a picture every day turned from an idle way of finding new pictures in everyday things to, what Steph would agree became an obsession.

I think I started on pretty much the same day as a number of notable blippers (Graham Colling, AnnieAndChris John Gravett, to name a few). I did. Where others are much better at taking a picture a day, every day, I have slipped, especially recently, and am now about 70 days or so behind many of these more regimented blippers.

Through Blip I have got to know lots of interesting people, many I am very pleased to call friends. People such as Annie and Chris have become very good friends. Long time friend MarkH joined the blipping fray as a result of my blips appearing in his Facebook feed (sorry about that!). During 2015 a work trip to California gave me the opportunity to meet Blipper Catherine Lacey-Dodd. Quite a long trip for a blipmeet! 

Over the past four years I have been to a number of blip meets. Something I think that wouldn't have happened on many other photography websites. Meeting at interesting and different places, from Chesterton Mill through to the disused USAF base at Upper Heyford, and all manner of things in-between, including a 'flash mob' type meet at the Photography show a couple of years back.

Over the past year I have had a few personal struggles, and the support from friends through the blip community, be it just being there and understanding, through to actual support has been really really appreciated in a way I find difficult to find words to describe. This is a truly unique aspect of the blip community, these fellow blippers are more than just other people who visit a website, they learn about your life through these journals, and some connect with you, and you with them.

Why should Blip be saved? - If the above the doesn't seem like a good enough reason, then to be blunt, it's probably a lost cause. What other website that asks for pretty much nothing from you could engage with people so much?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.