Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

My Car!

Well, not exactly. This is a 1962 TR 3 B which I saw driving along our street. It was parked if front of a neighbors house. He said that he got it from his dad.

I had two 1958 TR 3s just after I graduated from college. The first one was British Racing Green. I somersaulted that one and nearly killed a passenger, a pal and a gymnast. We were on a rock climbing expedition to Seneca Rocks in West Virginia. The car was totaled leading to the purchase of a red car like shown here.

This was a time before seat belts and Jack was pitched forward and the car landed on top of him. Luckily he had landed in a small ditch so he was able to wiggle out from under the car.

Some kindly neighbors too us to their home so they could call the sheriff. Riding in the back of the car, Jack told me his butt was very painful. At the house we found that he had sand in his pants. The sheriff let us sleep in the jail that night till some fraternity brothers could take us home the following day.

It was a learning experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.