Birgit

By Birgit

When we crossed Shetland on one of our bicycle tours we met a cheery couple waiting at a bus stop, waving at us. I still don't know why I stopped, but I did. We greeted one another had a brief conversation. The other day we met again, waiting for the ferry to the Orkney, where Lady Findhorn handed me her blip-address. On Orkney we cycled clockwise towards the ferry for John o'Goats, stopping at some points of interest. At the Italian Chapel, a woman approached and asked if we were the people whom she was waiting for. I didn't realise then that she was a Blipper.

I have been following Lady Findhorn without her knowing it until a year ago when I posted my first entry.
Blipping turned out to be a fun hobby. Posting my blips-of-the-day making a journal which I can look back upon, and browsing through entries of others. Every entry shows a small piece of the world of the Blipper. We all share this hobby. All our journals are valuable to the story they tell. We celebrate good times, we support each other in sad times.  To be a part of this community, making friends and improve my photographic skills, with the encouragement of my fellow Blippers; I would not like to lose this.

The existence of Blipfoto is in serious risk. The current owners may close down the site since speculation is that they have not seen the profits they anticipated. The Blipfoto community is trying to arrange a community buyout of the site. The goal is €180,000 and the amount pledged as of this evening is about €80,000 - there are 59 days left to raise the full funds but there is a January 11th meeting with the current owners to see if they will enter negotiations based on the amount of interest shown.


The pledge page is still open https://www.blipfuture.com 

Tomorrow will be my Blip anniversary. I included in this blip the blip of tomorrow (a future blip ;-)) and wish you all a
Happy New Year and a happy new year of Blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.