Cloth of Gold

We spent a very interesting morning in Buda Castle, and bought a photography permit, so could take all the photos we wanted - without flash of course.  The Oly camera performs brilliantly under these conditions, if set to auto.

There were some stunning textiles, of which this was only one.  All were behind glass so it was hard to do it justice.  A detail is in extras (or it will be once I can get it to upload)  It's an altar cloth.

It's no wonder embroiderers of the 15/16th Century went blind!  The workwomanship is exquisite.

I have a cross stitch table cloth I started more years ago than I care to remember, and I'm really encouraged to get it out again - I'm sure it's in a bag somewhere in the back of the wardrobe.  I might just give it another go.

Hungarian embroidery and handcrafts are getting something of a resurgence - and quite right too.  They are very beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.