The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

The Gravity of the situation

This is blipfoto. Every time someone pledges a tenner the egg moves a bit closer to the middle of the table. What's in it for you? They can't promise much apart from the continuation of blipfoto. That has to be worth at least a tenner. 
I couldn't get to sleep last night - not worrying about blip though. I was trying to sort out how gravity works. In my dozy state I was pretty sure I'd worked it out. Now I'm not so sure  but here's what i remember ;-)
Gravity isn't a force - Gravity is a warping of spacetime by mass. Without mass there'd be no space and no time. Bits of mass (like us people and the sun and the galaxy etc) have to move along spacetime and flow along the curves of spacetime (but I can't actually picture this in my mind because I can't figure out how the curves work in four dimensions). As you get closer to a mass the gravitational field curves spacetime more tightly (like the curve of an egg!). As you move away the curve flattens. Is the tightening of the curve a form of acceleration? Acceleration force is indistinguishable from gravity. So we are stuck to the earth as if it is under constant acceleration upwards beneath our feet. There are no absolutes in the Universe. Read Andrew Thomas. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.