Allegory of the Sense of Smell, 1697

In order to get the step count up, KryptoMart and I wandered all round the city centre today, going round the National Galleries where I blipped this painting.

This painting is called Lanscape with Dead Game: Allegory of the Sense of Smell, 1697 by Jan Weenix. This painting is one of five, based on the five senses: Taste, Smell, Hearing Touch, and Sight and all five were bought by the media mogul William Randolph Hurst in 1920. This painting was sold to RKO Pictures (owned by Howard Hughes), and later to Paramount Pictures, where it then appeared as a backdrop in a 1946 Bob Hope film.

I hope you have all had a good day.

P.S. Can I just say thank you to all of you who commented and gave me stars for yesterday's Blipfoto Future blip. Blipfoto is truly wonderful and certainly deserves to be around for many years to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.