New Years Day

After a great new year with friends at the Hilton in York, we ventured into York for a bracing walk around the city walls.

It was the first time I have ventured into York since the Boxing Day floods and I was really struck by how quickly the clean up operation has managed to transform the City centre back to its former glory.

There were some hints of flood damage here and there and if you looked closely enough, you could see some of the tragedy echoed in the skips that were mostly full of people's treasured belongings and pieces of furniture.

However, mostly I saw a story of resilience and community spirit as the city of York and it's residents have quietly and resolutely joined together in supporting those affected the most.

We have only lived in York for about a year, but I feel very much at home here now and I feel great pride in being part of the York community, now more than ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.