New friends

So I was meant to be home last night but our flight was delayed by 24 hours because a drunk man tried to open the aircraft door of our aircraft when it was on it's way from the UK to Hurghada where we would have boarded it to come home, because of this man who had drunk a huge amount of Brandy the plane landed in Crete to get rid of him, in the time it took to have him arrested the plane froze and there was not enough de-icer to unfreeze it!!  So a 3 hour delay turned into a cancelled flight!
The man and his girlfriend who apparently although drunk was mortified were both chucked off the plane and he is not allowed to fly back on Easyjet, he has been in court in Greece today and the crew said that they are very strict... ouch.

I have to say that Easyjet were very efficient and dealt with it all very well.

Left to right Alec who has a business fitting fire places and wood burners in Sussex, Me, Sharnia a secondary school science teacher and head of year in a school in Walthamstow, Anne a Mother of two, an intrepid explorer and traveler, diver and works in IT as a project manager for Unilever and Sally a web designer and Sharnia's sister Asfarna who is a GP and aflower arranger!

I met Anne and Alec while we were waiting for the delayed flight, we talked for hours about relationships, being parents, travelling, our work etc... when the flight was cancelled we stuck together and when Easyjet allocated hotels we were all in Group 2 and were taken to the Desert Rose where Anne had just had her holiday!! It's a lovely resort with 4 swimming pools, a water park, lovely gardens, good food and reasonably priced etc, looks perfect for families and I would reccommend it. In the restaurant there we met the sisters and all had dinner. This morning over coffees we met Sally and the group was complete, we hung out in the cafe at the airport chatting about our favourite films and tv shows and whatnot until it was time to board.

I asked if we could have a photo together and we asked a teenage boy to take it for us, we all agreed that the extra day had been great fun and a bonus and that we had all really enjoyed meeting one another, we have exchanged numbers!

The crew onboard were really nice and had all agreed to work an extra day even though they didn't have to so we could all get home, there was a great feeling of camaraderie all round.

I read Stardust on the plane, I loved it but I am such a massive fan of the film and I have to say that I think the story has been improved in the movie version.

I met everyone but Sally as i was waiting for my cab and was able to say goodbye!

It's good to be home where Max had cooked me dinner, we watched Justified together, he is not very well so he is sleeping downstairs which is just as well because my body clock is all over the place and I don't feel like sleeping yet (2am).

Gulliver came down to see me, I didn't get Back till gone 10 so the boys were in bed, so sweet <3, I will see Zebedee tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.