Slindsay

By Slindsay

Start as you mean to go on

January 1st saw me rolling out of bed at 7:30am ready to pick up friends for Aberdeen's double parkrun. This was not something I could have predicted even a year ago.

Running is not a sport I take to naturally, but it's one that keeps me fit and feeling brighter. I dread to think where my head would have been last year without it. It clears the cobwebs and keeps the demons (and flab) at bay but as with most sports... You have good days and you have bad.

Today clocked my worst parkrun times to date. My hamstring niggled a few hundred metres into the first run and I got through the second with painkillers and deepfreeze. In perspective... despite this, my times would easily beat what I could do 12 months ago. I remember dreaming of a sub 30 5k. A year makes a difference.

Off to the physio again this week. Half Mara training is go. Here's to a brighter (and sweatier) 2016.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.