twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Birthday celebrations.
After a 5am start (I really need to teach Tom how to tell the time), I slept a bit more (not sure how given we had a full house), but eventually got the ladies up around 10; and dropped G at Raymondo's.)
And then to hers so she could shower / change whilst I hoovered / did the washing up and then to Peebles for my bruv's 50th (which was on Hogmanay but he was working, so Cross Keys (handily cos my niece / his daughter works there - discount, you reckon? :) ) ahoy! And Maw's birthday too. 2 - 4 - 1 birthday celebration.
Duncan et al arrived on the bus, Roddy too hung over, and Janet's brother who I haven't seen in 10 - maybe more? - years, no Martin, but all the rest there.

So the first time she has been at a family-ish thing; all very calm.

I think the thing that this festive season has shown is that there is acceptance (finally) and that I'm old news and actually shit has happened and the dust has settled. Having seen and spoken to all the previously vocal parties, enough water has passed under the bridge to give perspective.

The highlight for me was my proud Maw. She'd been in John Lewis the other day buying a new lamp and had asked for it to be delivered; as the address was pulled up the guy comments ' it always makes me smile when I drive through Braco; it was Twinned with Trumpton, you know'''"

Maw was so pleased that she was able to tell the guy 'Well, actually..." It's funny how you make your parents proud; that 25 years on an act of clarity still resonates is cool as....

We exited around 4; and dropped her, then home for bath and light supper; they ate heartily that's for sure!
And all in bed by 2030 for a long sleep; I was still plodding away come midnight cobbling together Cigs book stuff.

Paw and Tom at the bar

TwT photo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.