Cygnets

This morning was a washout, with lots of rain. After a lovely roast lamb lunch, the weather seemed to take a turn for the better, so I walked off the lunch with Daisy at Shalfleet Quay. This time of year it is quite quiet, people can moor their boats there and sail, but only when it is high tide. 
 I only saw 3 other people walking their dogs, but there were lots and lots of birds, as Shalfleet Quay, backs on to Newtown Nature reserve. 

I was in a quandary as to which photo to use as my blip, but I kept coming back to these cygnets. They were swimming around with their parents, and it was so peaceful to watch them. There were also lots of Lapwings on the pontoons. All the tie I was there, I could hear birds tweeting but I couldn't see where it was coming from. Then suddenly I spied in the distance, on a sand bank, hundreds and hundreds of birds, I think they are Plovers, but they were so far away, it was hard to see even using the camera and laptop zoom I couldn't get a clear view of them.  I've posted these as extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.